[I will be posting a number of entries about Cancer in participation of next week’s ‘National Cancer Awareness Week’ led by ifoundme. This entry is a repost and it is the first of a number of entries. I will be posting links in the future of fellow bloggers with the same topic.]

… I’m a mess and God shook me like a maracas. It’s as if God wanted me to wake up from oblivion. And God did…

Riding home from work I received a call from my father, he told me “Totoy, kung uwi ka ay wag na lang muna, si Nini kasi ay isinugod sa hospital sa Maynila.” I thought it was nothing serious, I decided to give my friend a visit so I can unwind.

When I arrived at my friends house, it was then when I realized the situation. My father never calls me at the middle of the night, and he was giving me clues that things aren’t ok.

Wearing my normal getup (a pair of chucks, cargo pants a black shirt and my beads & studs) I broke down and cried like a little sissy girl… It was really serious… It’s life changing. I cried because I was clueless, I cried because I was worried.

Nicole was sick… Our little angel is fighting for her life.

Nicole came to our lives as if God wanted our family to be happy again, we had turbulent times, an unspoken truth between family members. Nicole came as a little healthy bundle of joy that made us drop our weapons and surrender to the gift of precious love only a small child can give.

Even if my father called me and told me not to come home, I still did. Upon walking inside our house I saw my brother with an odd look in his face. It was like he never slept, or he also cried all night. I asked him “Kuya anong nangyari?” he just answered “Hindi pa rin namin alam, hihintayin pa yung mga resulta.”

As I drop my things to the ground, my father came out his room and also gave me a look that I rarely see in my father’s eyes. The last time I saw him like that was when I had a motorcycle accident and broke my leg. The only difference is that now he had tears in his eyes. My dad never cries… I guess that day was an exception.

That day, we also knew that Nicole had Leukemia (ALA). We had nothing more to do but pray.

Last September 15, Nicole celebrated her 5th Birthday… Another wonderful gift that God gave us. Each year brings us near to her complete recovery.๐Ÿ™‚

Below are some pictures that I took from my sister’s friendster. You can see below that Nicole is healthy and she already grew her hair back.

Happy Birthday Nicole!

Happy Birthday Nicole!

D

Eyes on the road...๐Ÿ˜€

Her smile...

Her smile...

The cake after the taste test...

The cake after the taste test...

Wee! Big Smile!

Wee! Big Smile!

Nicole and Family!

Nicole and Family!

Happy Birthday Nicole! We Love You!!! I’m coming home soon!!! Take care of your cuz Adrian!

You’ll always be our inspiration… and 3 days ago, the thought of you stopped me from doing something stupid. You saved my life once again.

———-

“They say ‘crying’ doesn’t make you a MAN… I say they are right… Because crying makes you more than that… It makes you HUMAN again.” -mixglorioso